The Lois Lyman Concerto Competition is named after music teacher and one of ESYO's founding members, Lois Lyman. It began in 1985. The winner is selected through a rigorous application and performance process from amongst Symphony Orchestra's membership each year, representing some of the area's finest musicians. Applicants must perform a concerto from memory before a judging panel. The chosen musician is given the opportunity to perform a solo in concert each season.

Guidelines for Applicants

Lois Lyman Concerto Competition ’21-‘22 Student Guidelines

Competition Date: The competition will be held on Saturday, January 15, 2022 (snow date Sun., Jan. 16).  The winner will perform with the ESYO Symphony Orchestra as part of the April 3, 2022 concert.  

Eligibility/Choice of Competition Music:

  • The competition is open only to members of the Symphony Orchestra in good standing. Previous ESYO Lois Lyman Concerto Competition Winners are not eligible to re-apply for consideration during the season following their concerto performance.
  • Applications will be accepted for all orchestral instruments including percussion and piano. Applicants may audition on only one instrument in any given year, and it need not necessarily be the  instrument played in the Symphony Orchestra.
  • Applicants may choose any concerto or other published work for solo (soloists) with orchestral accompaniment. The work must be pre- approved by the Education Director before you submit the application. (Permission is partly dependent upon the availability of parts and score.)  The length of the concerto must not exceed 30 minutes, unless pre-approved by the Education Director. 

Your repertoire selection must be submitted for approval by Oct. 22.

You will be notified by email when approval has been granted.

Repertoire Approval Form:


Competition Application and $25.00 Participation Fee Due:  Nov. 19, 2021

The application and $25.00 participation fee are due by Nov. 19, 2021, the deadline will be strictly enforced. No applications will be accepted after the deadline, and any applications that were submitted in time but were incomplete (for example, lacking the name of your accompanist) must be completed by the deadline or the applicant will be removed from consideration.

Preparation and Competition Audition:

  • Applicants must prepare the entire concerto, but the judges will determine what portions of your selected piece will be played during the audition. The length of the audition will be ten minutes.   
  • For both the audition and the performance, applicants are required to play from memory, unless, as per standard performance practice, this requirement has been waived by the Education Director.   
  • All applicants will be permitted to have music available at the audition only to facilitate finding particular sections in the concerto as requested by the judges.
  • Applicants must provide the judges with a clean photocopy of the music.
  • Applicants must provide their own accompanist and must supply the required information about the accompanist by Nov. 19, the deadline for submitting the application.
  • Warm-up rooms will be available on the day of the competition. Percussionists and pianists will warm up in the audition room because of audition set-up issues and, for pianists, the use of an unfamiliar instrument.
  • With the exception of the judges, the accompanist, page-turners for the accompanist (if needed), and the individual applicant at their scheduled time, no one (such as family or teachers) is allowed in the audition room during the audition.  

Competition Results:

  • Judges will select a winner and runner-up. ESYO reserves the right to declare no winner based upon the decision of the judges.
  • Applicants will be notified by email or phone of the judges’ decision within 48 hours of the competition.
  • The winner will perform the entire concerto with the Symphony Orchestra.  The work selected for the audition will be the piece the winner performs at the concert.
  • The runner-up may be invited to perform a movement (or movements) of their piece with the Repertory Orchestra.  The decision will be made by the Repertory Orchestra Conductor and the Music Director.
  • Participants will receive a copy of their adjudication forms.

 If you have any questions about your application and/or participation in the competition, please contact Sue Lascoe, ESYO Operations Director, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Application Form Deadlines

To participate, Symphony Orchestra members must fill out the following forms by the indicated deadlines: 

Concerto Competition-Previous Winners
William Luaricella, piano
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102
William Han, cello
Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107, Dmitri Shostakovich
Gabrielle Kim, piano
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16, Edvard Grieg
Aram Kim, violin
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor, Op. 37, Henri Vieuxtemps
Michael Zhu, violin
The Lark Ascending, Ralph Vaughan Williams
Hannah Dick, percussion
Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra, Op. 12, Ney Rosauro
Clare Criscione, violin
Concerto No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61, Camille Saint-Saëns
Jacob Efthimiou, cello
Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op.33, Camille Saint-Saëns
Lisa Liu, violin
The Butterfly Lovers, by Chen Gang and He Zhanhao


Turi Scilipoti, flute
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra, by Jacques Ibert
Zachary Evans, violin
Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21, by Édouard Lalo
Ryan Reilly, piano
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat, S. 124, by Franz Liszt
Anthony Bellino, trumpet
Proclamation, by Ernest Bloch


Leo Brown, violin
Zigeunerweisen, Op. 20
Jack Qian, violin
Concerto in E Minor, Op. 64, by Felix Mendelssohn
Eric Zhou, violin
The Butterfly Lovers, by Chen Gang and He Zhanhao
James Benoit, marimba
Fantasy on Japanese Woodprints, Op. 211, by Alan Hovhaness
Kathryn Andersen, violin
Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21, by Édouard Lalo
Ashley Bathgate, cello
Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129, by Robert Schumann
Ashley Bathgate, cello
Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33, by Camille Saint-Saëns
Benjamin Chan, violin
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61, by Ludwig van Beethoven
Felice Kuan, piano
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16, by Edvard Grieg
Jonathan Chu, violin
Concerto No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 61, by Camille Saint-Saëns
Adrienne Chamberlain, French horn
Concerto #1 by Richard Strauss
Jennifer Chu, piano
Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25, by Felix Mendelssohn
Marisa Range, piano
Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22, by Camille Saint-Saëns
Nathan Lawrence, violin
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Clancy Newman, cello
Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104, by Antonín Dvořák
Emily Greitzer, violin
Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21, by Édouard Lalo
Meg Bragle, violin
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, by Samuel Barber
Michelle Fenton, bassoon
Concerto in B flat Major, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Stefon Harris, marimba
Fantasy on Japanese Woodprints, by Alan Hovhaness
Martha Pushee, piano
Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Op. 19, by Ludwig van Beethoven
Dana Gooley, piano
Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25, by Felix Mendelssohn
Lisa Cole, clarinet
Concerto in A Major, K. 622, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Joyce Ryu, violin
Concerto in E Minor, Op. 64

William Lauricella, piano

2019-20 Competition Winner
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102

William Han, cello

2018-19 Competition Winner
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107

Gabrielle Kim, piano

2017-18 Competition Winner
Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

Aram Kim, violin

2016-2017 Competition Winner
Vieuxtemps: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor, Op. 37