Skip to main content

Symphony Orchestra Performs Dvořák's Symphony 8, Mvt I

ESYO Symphony Orchestra
Andrés Rivas, Guest Conductor
Troy Savings Bank Music Hall

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88
I. Allegro con brio In 1889, Dvořák had two more symphonies left to write, plus a cello concerto and a series of symphonic poems. Twelve years earlier, Brahms had championed Dvořák’s music (especially the Moravian Duets), leading to the international success of the Slavonic Dances and securing Fritz Simrock as the publisher for the Czech composer’s music. Ironically, the G-major Symphony was not published by Simrock, whose insulting offer of merely one-sixth of the fee paid for the D-minor Symphony (No. 7, Op. 70) was refused by the composer. Dvořák had recently become quite popular in England, and the G-major Symphony was published in that country by Novello in 1892.

Program Note courtesy of Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra

Related Videos